Uncategorized

A new direction for 2017

I don’t really do New Years resolutions any more, I don’t think that they really work and can make you feel bad about yourself when you don’t manage to keep them up. I do set goals though and look at things that I want to achieve. Goal setting is common in the workplace and I think they work well in your personal life and are more acheiveable. They stop me from doing the generic I want to get fit and make me break it down into acheiveable sizes.

I’ve decided that the blog will take a new direction in 2017, with me writing about more topics than just crafts. One of the reasons that the blog is so quiet is that I don’t have a lot of time to do crafting, and a lot of the projects I have planned for this year are quite big, so not really that interesting to read about every week! I want the blog to have more than just craft related topics and these topics are going to relate to my goals for 2017.

My goals for 2017 and potential topics for the blog are:

Learn new yoga positions – I’ve been doing yoga for the last couple of years on and off, and I’m now doing it regularly and starting to feel the benefits. Each month I’m challenging myself to learn a new position. This month is all about the crow. I don’t have a huge amount of upper body strength so it is a bit of challenge but I do have good balance which I think will work in my favour for mastering this.
DIY – I’ve got a few DIY / upcycling projects for the house this year, expect to see more on this later this month.
Run more – I like running, it’s good for the soul and I need to run more. I used to run quite a lot, but running is very easy for me to stop and quite hard for me to pick up again, so I hope to change this in 2017.
Healthy eating – Try and eat more healthily. I’ve started using my fitness pal to help me be more aware of what I’m eating. I’m also contemplating going vegan, I’m not into fad diets, never have been as I just think they don’t work. The only real way to loose weight is to eat well and exercise. I’ve been vegetarian since I was about 10 years old and I’ve been thinking about my reasons for going vegetarian and if this extends into the diary industry. I think vegan’s get a negative reputation and there is definitely a negative stereotype attached to them.
Books – I’ve set myself a reading goal this year. I don’t read nearly as much as I used to and I’m hoping to change that.
I’m looking forward to writing more in 2017 and I hope that you will enjoy reading my posts.

Have you set yourself any goals for 2017? I would love to hear what they are.

XOXO

3 thoughts on “A new direction for 2017

  1. Hi Jen!
    bookwise, can I recommend The Woman on the Orient Express? I really enjoyed this one (so much so I blogged about it).
    goals – does staying sane & employed cover it? I do have a few house ones, some DIY and some more about keeping the vege patch productive year-round. I think I’m becoming an adult!
    take care
    P

    Like

Leave a Reply

